Rokinon 14mm f/2.8 IF ED UMC Review

Rokinon 14mm f/2.8 Review

The Rokinon 14mm f/2.8. Lots of glass for the money.

Here’s a quick review of the Rokinon 14mm f/2.8, arguably the best, most affordable lens for astrophotography.

Rokinon is the US distributor of Samyang lenses. There are a variety of brand names that the 14mm f/2.8 IF ED UMC Lens is available under including Samyang, Vivitar, Falcon, Rokinon, Walimex, Bower, Opteka, Polar and Pro-Optic. I’m reviewing the Rokinon branded lens but other than the labeling, it’s identical to the lenses from any of the other brands.

Rokinon Samyang 14mm f/2.8 IF ED UMC

The Rokinon 14mm f/2.8 IF ED UMC Lens ( Amazon / B&H ) is available in nearly every modern camera mount including: Canon, Fujifilm X-Mount, Micro Four-Thirds, Nikon, Nikon AE, Olympus, Pentax, Sony Alpha, and Sony E-mount. With a street price of about $350, it’s arguably the best, most affordable super-wide angle lens that you can buy. But it’s still not without its quirks. In this quick review I’ll give you my thoughts of the lens and show you some of my favorite photos made with the Rokinon 14mm over the last year. Let’s start with the bad and end with the good.

The Quirks

  • It’s manual focus. Not really a huge deal, but some users may be hesitant to transition from the comfort of an autofocus lens to the challenge of manual focus. Some careful use of live view magnification can ensure the sharpest results for your astrophotos.
  • It’s huge. Just look at that front element. That’s a lot of glass. It weighs 1.2 lbs (552 grams) which is pretty hefty but keep in mind that it’s still lighter than the autofocus Canon 14mm f/2.8L or Nikon 14mm f/2.8D lenses which are 1.42 lbs (645 grams) and 1.47 lbs (670 grams) respectively. None of the 14mm’s available seem light, unless you’re looking at a compact mirrorless system lens like the Fujifilm XF 14mm f/2.8 R ( Amazon / B&H ), but that lens is Fuji X APS-C only while the Rokinon, Canon and Nikon lenses are all full-frame compatible.
  • The lens cap. The lens cap is a non-standard cylindrical cap that fits over the lens’s built in hood. It’s a typical design found on many full frame ultra-wide angle lenses that are designed with a large front element and built in lens hood. Not unusual but you can’t just slip the cap into your jeans pocket because it’s so large. This is also indicative of the built-in petal hood and bulbous front element which prevented the lens designers from being able to support a filter thread. Unfortunately, they did not offer a rear gel filter slot either.
Rokinon Samyang 14mm f/2.8 IF ED UMC Lens Cap On

The Rokinon 14mm f/2.8 Lens Cap is rather large due to the built in hood design.


  • The focus ring is slow. While it’s well damped and very smooth to rotate, the focus ring requires a lot of rotation to sweep the lens through its entire focus range. This makes quick manual focus adjustments rather difficult, especially since the apparent depth of field of the lens is very large, making small adjustments on close subjects a little bit of a careful process that usually requires zoomed live view. Furthermore, the distance scale on the focusing ring doesn’t seem very accurate so it’s not always advisable to just set the lens to infinity and forget it. For street photography, it’s fine to just stop down with the Sunny 16 Rule and set it to roughly infinity. The depth of field will be large enough in that case to encompass everything from a couple feet away all the way out to infinity. 
  • In the right wrong conditions, it has a crazy lens flare. This isn’t a problem in most shooting conditions, but if you put a bright light source like the sun at the edge of the image, you can make some pretty awesome rainbow flares.
Rokinon 14mm lens flare

In just the right conditions, with a bright light source at the edge of the frame, the Rokinon 14mm/2.8 makes a rainbow lens flare.

  • It has noticeable moustache distortion. Images straight from the camera are anything but. While the lens is a rectilinear (non-fisheye) design, it still has some pretty noticeable wavy distortion at the edges of the frame. Fans of straight lines and brick walls might not be pleased but luckily you can correct the moustache distortion of the Rokinon 14mm f/2.8 in Adobe Photoshop Lightroom by using a lens profile via the Adobe Lens Profile Downloader. In landscape situations, it’s not a problem but architecture photographers will likely need to use distortion correction in post processing.

The Goods

  • It’s well built. It features a construction of high quality plastics and a metal mount. It feels good in the hand an it seems like a lot of glass for the money. The focus ring and aperture ring are all very smooth to turn and tight enough to prevent accidental bumps. It feels like the lens could take a beating, not that I would advise it.
  • It’s incredibly sharp, even wide open. I shoot astrophotos with this lens a f/2.8 all the time. It’s super sharp to the point that I rarely ever stop down, except in bright daytime conditions. It’s arguably sharper than Canon or Nikon’s equivalents.
  • It has very low levels of coma (comatic aberration). This trait prevents the lens from distorting pinpoint light sources (like stars) at the edges of the frame. Since it’s such a wide angle lens, apparent motion at the edges of the frame is high so the lens will usually show a little star trailing in the corners when making astrophotos with shutter speeds of 30 seconds or more.
  • It’s bright. The f/2.8 aperture, in combination with the wide field of view of the 14mm focal length make for a great combination for astrophotos. It fares well with a score of 1032 on my Nightscapes Lens Rating Guide. A score of 1000 is my criteria for excellent lenses for Milky Way photography and the 14mm is right there.
  • It’s wide.  I’ve already said it before, but this lens has a huge field of view. On a full frame camera like the Canon EOS 6D (my review of the 6D) , it has a viewing angle of 115.7°. There is only one focal length that’s available for a full-frame camera that’s wider than the 14mm and that’s 12mm but the fastest 12mm lens available for full-frame is the Sigma 12-24mm and it has an f/number of only f/4.5 which is a little bit too slow for most astrophotography applications. This makes any 14mm f/2.8 lens the widest full-frame rectilinear lens I would recommend for astrophotography until manufacturers can develop something faster.
Rokinon Samyang 14mm f/2.8 Astrophotography - Joshua Tree

The Rokinon 14mm f/2.8 has a super wide field of view. Canon EOS 6D, 14mm/2.8, 30s, ISO 3200

  • It’s cheap. Priced at around $350, the Rokinon 14mm f/2.8 is about $1000 cheaper than the Nikon 14mm f/2.8D and $2000 cheaper than Canon’s 14mm f/2.8L. Unless you think autofocus is worth a $1000 or more extra, the Rokinon 14mm f/2.8 is the better choice.

The Photos

I’ve been using the Rokinon 14mm f/2.8 for more than a year now so I’ve had the opportunity to shoot with it a lot and I’ve never been disappointed with the photos that it takes. Here are a few example photos from the last year with the Rokinon 14mm f/2.8:

Alabama Hills Photography Workshop

Canon EOS 6D, Rokinon 14mm f/2.8, 30s, ISO 6400

Rokinon 14mm f/2.8 Astrophotography - Trona Pinnacles

Canon EOS 6D, Rokinon 14mm f/2.8, 30s, ISO 6400

hidden dunes

Canon EOS 6D, Rokinon 14mm/2.8 @ f/11, 1/640th, ISO 400

Rokinon Samyang 14mm f/2.8 Astrophotography - Vasquez Rocks

Canon EOS 6D, Rokinon 14mm/2.8, 30s, ISO 6400


Canon EOS 6D, Rokinon 14mm/2.8, 30s, ISO 6400


Canon EOS 6D, Rokinon 14mm/2.8, 30s, ISO 6400


Canon EOS 6D, Rokinon 14mm/2.8, 60s, ISO 3200


At such an affordable price, the Rokinon 14mm f/2.8 is a must have lens for anyone serious about astrophotography. Combined with a full frame sensor, it offers a super wide view and excellent sharpness, even wide open. It’s slow focus ring and inaccurate distance scale are minor quirks but a little bit of manual focusing practice with the lens will help most photographers adjust to its use. Given that most full-frame alternatives are at least $1000 more expensive, the Rokinon 14mm f/2.8 is one of the best super-wide astrophotography and landscape lenses available for any interchangeable lens camera system. If you’re trying to decide on what lens you should buy for landscape astrophotography or Milky Way photos, stop right there and buy this lens first.


If you’re planning on buying the Rokinon f/2.8 or any of the other products mentioned on this review, consider buying through one of the links in the review to help support Lonely Speck. It won’t cost anything extra, but I’ll receive a small commission to support the site.

Rokinon 14mm f/2.8 IF ED UMC ( Amazon / B&H )




Ian Norman

Creator at Lonely Speck
Ian Norman, co-founder and creator of The Photon Collective and Lonely Speck. Ian is a full time traveler, photographer and entrepreneur. In February 2013, he called it quits on his 9-to-5 to pursue a lifestyle of photography. Follow Ian's photography adventures on Instagram.

102 Responses

  1. torete November 24, 2015 / 1:30 am

    Does anybody made or have any comparison among the venus 15 mm vs the rokinon 14 mm in general shots? how about adding an extension tube for wide angle macro? the rokinon has wider aperture, wider angle, not sure about the sharpness at different apertures, construction, size and weight, price, …
    would be able to focus to infinity with the rokinon and extension tube?.
    Any thoughts or comparison?

  2. Risto Leskinen November 11, 2015 / 5:26 am

    Hi Ian

    Thanks for your very informative articles and videos.

    They made me to purchase this Samyang/Rokinon 24mm lens. However, I found some small light sources creating a very annoying and big flare around them. I’ve seen some other owners complaining about it as well, e.g. in this flickr discussion:

    Have you seen this and is this phenomena to be expected with this lens or is this due to a bad copy of the lens?

  3. Bryan September 29, 2015 / 12:11 am

    Ian, Just bought this lens off your recommendation. The images came out great. How can I share them?


  4. Peter Anthony September 22, 2015 / 10:55 pm

    I am just learning to take photos of the milky way i have a Sony A7S and was wandering which lens i should buy the Rockinon 14mm or 24mm i have read your reviews on both but can not make up my mind.

  5. Laser Sharp September 15, 2015 / 10:16 am

    Thank you for sharing the info. I have learned a ton from your articles and videos!
    Regarding stacking for noise reduction, how do you overcome the distortion of Rokinon 14mm lens? I am experiencing some issues with aligning the photos in PS. With the Auto-Alignment in PS CC, the stars are not well aligned even the foreground is masked. The issue is probably due to nonuniform distortion of the lens. In other words, the same star experiences different distortion on different frames due to its position change. As a result, many artificial stars are generated from the blended image. Do you have similar experience?

    • Derek September 17, 2015 / 8:25 am

      Laser Sharp, going from shooting at f2.8 to f3.5 and selecting a lens profile in the lens correction in PS or LR then tweaking the lens correction settings has worked for me. Also, instead of going for one large wide field shot of the Milky, try taking 4-8 shots of what you want but zoomed in and stitch them together in photoshop. A lot of work but you can get some great results!!

  6. Joshua September 7, 2015 / 1:26 am

    Hi! Im just wondering, How where u able to keep the subject/person sharp with a 30s shutter speed? Was that only one shot?


    • Ian Norman September 8, 2015 / 7:43 am

      Had to stay really still! Part of the challenge!

  7. Kevin August 29, 2015 / 3:06 pm

    Hi Ian
    Thanks for all of your free advice that other sites would charge for.
    I have read both of you rreviews on the Rokinon 14mm f/2.8 and the 24mm f/1.4.
    Do both lenses have the same problem with decentering and needing to be returned several times to get a good copy? You didn’t mention that problem in the review of the 14mm.
    Is the 24mm able to have filters screwed on?
    I have the Sony a7s and have used your instructions to shoot with using the Sony 28-70 kit lens but I want to get a lens better suited for astrophotography.
    Best regards,

    • Ian Norman August 29, 2015 / 7:59 pm

      Kevin, any short focal length lens is more susceptible to decentering but the Rokinon lenses are certainly more common to see problems. I have also encountered decentered Sony, Sigma, Canon and Fujifilm lenses in the past. That said, I do think my experience with the Rokinon 24mm lens to be an extreme case. I did not ever experience any problems with my 14mm and I think it tends to fare better but I have only experience with one copy.

  8. John W August 23, 2015 / 7:15 pm

    Can the Rokinon 14mm /f2.8 be used with the APS C cameras, as well? I have a Canon 60D, but am considering purchasing my first full frame camera, Canon 6D sometime in near future. I’d hate to go with the Rokinon 10mm f2.8 just because I have a 60D.


    • Ian Norman August 29, 2015 / 8:00 pm

      Yes it can be used on APS-C!

  9. inge weidmann August 23, 2015 / 2:00 pm

    I’m thinking of purchasing a Rokkonon (Samyang) 14mm f2.8 lens for my Nikon D7100 .
    However, I would like to download a Lightroom lens profile for this lens.

    I looked a the adobe lens profiled downloader, but could not find the right profile.
    I will gladly make a donation to your website if you’ll let me know where to get this profile for lightroom cc – I understand it is advisable to apply the lens profile.

    Also, what do you think of the new laowa 15mm f/4 lens – I understand there is a + / – adjustment for perspective correction on the lens.
    thanks for your response.
    i. weidmann

  10. Dave August 14, 2015 / 10:16 am

    hi Ian,

    Thanks for all the great content! I’ve just bought a Sony A7s and am trying to decide between this lens, a voigtlander heliar iii 15mm f4 and a Nikon 14mm f2.8. For general landscapes and I’d like to try astrophotography. At the moment I’m leaning towards the voigtlander with the close focus adaptor.

    I like the smaller size of the voigtlander but wonder if it’s better to go for a faster lens.

    I was wondering if you’d been able to compare them?

    Best wishes


    • Ian Norman August 29, 2015 / 8:03 pm

      The a7S should be able to handle the slower voigtlander fairly well. There will always be an advantage from using a faster lens so this is a matter of how much you cherish a lightweight camera. Faster and bigger or slower and smaller.

  11. Neville August 5, 2015 / 12:10 pm

    I took my new Rokinon 14mm f/2.8 lens out for its first Milky Way shoot, coupled to my Pentax K5-II, last night and I was very impressed with the result!

    • Ian Norman August 29, 2015 / 8:00 pm

      Awesome results!

  12. James Flynn July 27, 2015 / 10:05 pm

    Hey Ian, I just received this lens and took it out for the first time last night. Im experiencing some pretty dramatic distortions at the edges of my images. At what point do you think these are acceptable for a refund? My images were shot at F2.8, and looking at the images you’ve posted on here shot at the same Aperture, I think i have a very real issue.

    • Ian Norman July 27, 2015 / 11:11 pm

      It’s hard to gauge without seeing an example. But if it’s bothering you, return it.

  13. Ed Genaux July 2, 2015 / 7:31 am

    Rokinon FE14M-C 14mm F2.8 Ultra Wide Lens with the A7s… what lens correction do you use or how do you do it? it is not listed in Adobe LR or raw but you can create one in Capture One Pro 8 I just do not have the white card yet, just wondering!!

    • Ian Norman July 2, 2015 / 2:30 pm

      I use the Samyang 14mm profile available through the Adobe Lens Profile Downloader. It’s listed under the Canon 5D MarkII but it works well to correct the distortion.

      I’ve tried creating my own custom correction profiles but it’s a huge pain!


  14. Jf June 28, 2015 / 9:26 pm

    Hi thanks for the post, great pictures!!! just bought the lens using your link! Going to get this baby out as soon as it arrives :) i was wondering did you blend pictures to get thèse results? Or used some lighting? Post processed foreground exposure or if thé sky and ambiant light was enough to light thé whole scène??

  15. Rhea June 16, 2015 / 5:39 am

    Hello Ian,

    I was wondering if the lens would fit on my D5300.
    Thanks !

  16. Bill Mack June 11, 2015 / 12:27 pm

    I have read your articles over and over. I am on the fence on which lens to get. I am interested primarily in wide angle astrophotography with an APS-C T3i. I like the idea of the EF mount in case of upgrade in the future, but the APS-C specific lens is a bit faster.

    Do you see any advantages/disadvantages between the 16M-C f/2.0 and the FE14M-C f/2.8, in my particular case. Which would be better?


    • Ian Norman June 11, 2015 / 2:23 pm

      I think on a cropped sensor, the 16mm/2 is the better choice due to the larger aperture.

  17. gino June 10, 2015 / 11:10 am

    hi — I recently bought a copy of the rokinon 14mm 2.8 and I primarily use it only for astro timelapses. I noticed after the final result of the timelapse that there are a number of white specks on my timelapse. I read that if it is due to dust, it would show up as black, however when viewing the entire timelapse the white specks remain in place while the stars move as they’re supposed to.

    1) do i have a bad copy of the rokinon?
    2) is it really dust on the lens or 5dm3 sensor?

    • Ian Norman June 10, 2015 / 12:04 pm

      The white specks are likely hot pixels on your sensor and have nothing to do with your lens. You can re-map the hot pixels to fix this problem on the 5DM3 by placing a body cap on the body (no lens) and enabling manual cleaning mode and turning off the camera after 30 seconds.

      There are a few youtube videos out there about this:

    • gino June 10, 2015 / 12:54 pm

      Excited to try this out.. can’t believe i missed this ‘suggestion’ on google. Thanks Ian

  18. Kit June 8, 2015 / 1:59 pm

    Hi Ian,

    On your recomedation in this review, and on other similarly glowing reviews, I got myself the Nikon fit of this and am using it with a Fotodiox Pro adapter on my Sony A7. Sharpness from f4.0 and up is fantastic, but at f2.8 it seems to me to be pretty poor! I’m a total amateur and this is the first ‘quality’ and camera I’ve owned, so I’m not confident that there’s something wrong with the lens!

    I’ve uploaded some 100% crops at f2.8, f4 and f8 here:

    Would you mind taking a look and seeing if the f2.8 image (top) would match your expectation of this lens? My feeling is NOT, but welcome your opinion!

    Many thanks, Kit

    • Ian Norman June 10, 2015 / 12:04 pm

      Kit, it seems like your lens is overly soft. I would try to exchange it for a better copy!

    • Kit June 16, 2015 / 9:13 am

      Many thanks for your time Ian, really appreciated!

  19. Dave Lang June 3, 2015 / 6:44 am

    If your shooting DX I’d recommend the Tokina 11-16 f/2.8 over this lens. It’s wider, sharp, and can be found used for less than $350. For FX this lens is great but I also use my Tokina 11-16 @ F/16 on my D800 for Milky Way shots all the time.

    • Ian Norman June 10, 2015 / 12:06 pm

      I recommend the Tokina 11-16 for APS-C (DX) sensors over this lens: it has a wider field of view, AF, less distortion, etc. Excellent lens.

  20. Anh Tran May 30, 2015 / 10:11 pm

    awesome review! thank you. im still debating on getting the 24mm 1.4 or the 14mm 2.8. im just starting to get into astrophography but i wanna use a ultra wide angle for both astro and lansdcapes.

    • Ian Norman June 10, 2015 / 12:07 pm

      Start with the shorter lens. It will have the more dramatic field of view which tends to be more desirable for general landscape work.

  21. Suze May 20, 2015 / 11:35 am

    Hi Ian,

    I will be purchasing this lens for a Nikon D5300. The purpose for the lens is primarily landscapes and astrophotography. I have been reading customer reviews of this lens on a number of different sites (buying it on b&h), to make sure this is what I want. I’m seeing people using this lens for a lot of different things. Is this a lens I should add to my “everywhere” bag? Currently, I have my kit lens, a Tamron 70-300mm f/4-5.6, and a Nikkor 35mm f/1.8 in my “everywhere” bag.

    • Ian Norman May 22, 2015 / 10:11 am

      I always love having a super wide angle lens available to me so I’d put it in the ‘Everywhere’ bag!

  22. Joey Cannon March 3, 2015 / 12:55 am

    Hi Ian..will this lens work on a Canon 600D?
    Great pics .

    • Ian Norman March 3, 2015 / 5:03 pm

      Yes! Be sure to get the Canon EF mount version.

  23. Mathieu January 12, 2015 / 5:16 pm

    Thank you for this review, it was very useful for me.
    I want to buy that lens but I was wondering if the chipped model for Nikon worth the extra money (I have a Nikon D5300).
    Besides the metering chip, are the chipped and normal Lens exactly the same? Are the optics exactly the same?
    Thank you!

    • Ian Norman January 12, 2015 / 9:24 pm

      The optics between the chipped and non-chipped versions of the lenses are identical. If you shoot Nikon, grab the chipped version. It’s much nicer to be able to use it with auto-exposure modes for walkaround use. Obviously it’s not super useful for astrophotography but I’m sure we all like to use our camera gear for more than just shooting the night sky…

  24. Steve Ornberg December 23, 2014 / 8:55 am

    Great review. Based on your site I ordered the 14mm through your B&H link. Love your website and recommended it to all my camera club friends. I am just starting out in astrophotographers so I look forward to trying out my new lens.

    • Ian Norman December 25, 2014 / 4:24 am

      Thanks Steve! Share some results!

  25. Luke Tran December 21, 2014 / 6:10 pm

    Hi IAN,

    I’m using 6D with lens Rokinon 14mm/f2.8 just few days ago . I cannot find out the best aperture for it . Could you please give me the advice. Thank you very much in advance.


  26. ben October 22, 2014 / 12:44 pm

    Great Review ian ,

    would this lens still be worthing looking into getting even without a full frame sensor camera , i currently own a Cannon 550d , but with the potential of looking into a full frame in the future.

    • ben November 30, 2014 / 10:32 am


    • David Ouellette December 1, 2014 / 9:05 am

      It depends on how serious you are about full frame. The tokina 11-16 f2.8 would be better for crop sensor, but if you’re considering selling your 550 for a full frame, I would advise you to start investing in full frame compatible lenses. I wouldnt recommend the Rokinon 14mm for crop sensor because its not really ultrawide on Apsc cameras, but if youre sure about switching to full frame, go ahead. I regret having sold my Rebel 4 when switching to full frame because having two bodies would be awesome, and APSC cameras have their advantages. Plus, bodies lose value so much faster than lenses.
      I know my response doesnt give you a perfect answer, but those are important things to consider from someone who was once asking the same question.

    • Ian Norman December 1, 2014 / 11:32 am

      I actually still think it’s a decent choice, even on crop sensors. It’s still markedly wider than most kit lenses and faster, too.

      Obviously there’s the perk of having it cover full-frame which is always nice if you choose to upgrade.

  27. Prashant September 28, 2014 / 12:53 am

    Not able to mount it on canon 6d. Any tips?

    • David Ouellette September 28, 2014 / 4:45 am

      Hey man,
      Mine mounts perfectly on my 6D. I would double check to make sure you got a canon mount without any damage. Otherwise, note the the red dot (mounting indicator) is in an awkward place, and isnt really visible while youre trying to attach the lens.

  28. Danny D. September 24, 2014 / 12:34 pm

    Ian! Thanks for all the info brother, I just ordered this lens to step up my astro-photo game. I am very excited to say the least! I did order from the link on this page to help support cause well you are support the community.

    What software are you using to edit? Have you tried any iPad apps to edit your images? Which ones and why? Thanks man and stay inspired!


  29. colin September 23, 2014 / 1:15 am

    hi re Rokinon 14mm f/2.8 if im just using this lens for astro sky scapes and milky way do i have to worry about the distortion or will i get away with out photoshop colin

    • Ian Norman September 23, 2014 / 1:00 pm

      The distortion only really makes itself apparent when you have straight lines like in architecture shots or ocean scenes. I think it’s still a great pick, even in those situations.

  30. ben September 16, 2014 / 2:12 pm

    how have i only just found this website wow ! hours of reading and still got more to go iv just subscribed and was thinking only today what would be the best starter all round lens for astrophotography. Apon reading your review on the Rokinon 14mm f/2.8 which i thought was very good however i was also wondering as well as night time/ astrophotography / landscape would this lens benefit for any other use ? keep up the good work

    • Ian Norman September 16, 2014 / 3:49 pm

      It’s hilarious fun for portraits and pretty much anything else where you want a wacky perspective. I personally love shooting super wide angle shots in about any situation so I feel like it’s a lens that doesn’t just stay in the bag collecting dust.

  31. Tracy September 14, 2014 / 11:22 pm

    Thanks for the many tips about this lens, Ian!
    I just ordered this online and I realized that the lens I paid $275 was ‘refurbished’ product.
    Since I have no experience about using refurbished lens, I’m worrying about to return this. What do you think about this? :) (The seller informed that refurbished lens doesn’t have any trouble to use it..But I’m just worrying about it.) Thank you in advance!

    • Ian Norman September 16, 2014 / 3:48 pm

      I wouldn’t be too worried about re-furbished but you should definitely test it out when you receive it to make sure that it’s OK.

  32. Liu Lin September 12, 2014 / 10:20 am

    Excuse me, Ian, I have a very amateur question, is the “Samyang 16mm f2.0 ED AS UMC CS Lens” the same thing as the “Rokinon 16mm f/2.0″ that some guys have mentioned here before?

    • Ian Norman September 13, 2014 / 7:15 pm

      Yes, Samyang is the manufacturer of many lenses that are also branded as “Rokinon”, “Bower” and a few other names. I usually refer to them as Rokinon because that’s the most prominent brand in the USA of all the names that they use. So the Samyang 16mm f/2.0 and Rokinon 16mm f/2.0 are the same.

  33. Paul September 6, 2014 / 6:17 pm

    Hey Ian,
    I’m on the fence for this one or the Rokinon 24 f/1.4 which you gave a higher score to. Having both which do you use more and why? If you could just have one, money not being the concern what would you recommend? A faster lens or a wider fov?

    • Ian Norman September 13, 2014 / 7:17 pm

      I would probably go with the 24mm first as it’s got the more impressive aperture. That’s what I did personally, first the 24mm and then the 14mm.

  34. brooke August 11, 2014 / 7:39 am

    Thank you for the great information! I am going to buy this lens in a few weeks I am beyond excited to get my hands on it and see what magic I can create!

  35. bmills July 20, 2014 / 5:40 pm

    I hope this isn’t too much overlap with the previous question, but…I’m debating between this lens and the Rokinon 16mm f/2 for a Nikon D7000. I’ll use it mostly for astrophotography but I’ll still use it for great wide-angle landscapes during daylight and other non-astrophotography stuff. Is the extra $50 worth it for slightly less FOV but a full stop faster? Or should I pocket the $50 and be stoked on a wider, albeit slightly less bright, lens that will still give fantastic results? My current fastest wide angle is 18mm on the 18-200 f/3.5-5.6 so either lens is a MASSIVE upgrade. BTW, love the site and I will for sure be clicking through to B&H from your links to the lens I buy!

    • Ian Norman July 20, 2014 / 9:06 pm

      Tough question bmills. Just like the last question from Elia, it’s sort of a price question. Since you point out that the 16mm/2.0 is only $50 more than the 14mm/2.8, I might be inclined to go with the 16mm/2.0 instead. The extra stop of light will definitely make the difference in making a cleaner exposure and as far as FOV, if you want to have more you can always stitch together two frames from the 16mm for a larger FOV.

  36. elia July 13, 2014 / 9:06 am

    What advice between 16mm f2.0 and 14 f2.8 for sony a58?

    • Ian Norman July 13, 2014 / 10:32 am

      For the price, the 14mm/2.8 is a better deal but for astrophotography performance, the 16mm/2.0 will be a full-stop better at gathering light. If you’re on a budget, grab the 14mm, if you want the best results, grab the 16mm.

  37. Dark Knight! July 9, 2014 / 2:05 pm

    Do images have information about s-stop and aperture setting?

    • Ian Norman July 9, 2014 / 3:29 pm

      Only the Nikon mount version is available with the AF/AE confirmation chip that communicates f-stop and aperture information.

  38. T_rell July 7, 2014 / 7:57 am

    Ian: Have you done any testing with the Rokinon 14mm f/2.8 ED AS IF UMC Lens for Sony E Mount (a7 or a7R)? I was thinking about buying this lens but before I make a $400 mistake I thought I would ask first. I’m just curious of the image quality using this lens on a mirrorless camera opposed to a DSLR. Thanks,

    • Ian Norman July 9, 2014 / 3:30 pm

      The image quality on a mirrorless camera should be identical to an SLR. I’m getting an A7s to review soon so check back for some sample images.

    • T_rell July 9, 2014 / 5:40 pm

      Thanks Ian for the reply. I went ahead and made the purchase using the link you supplied for B&H. I went ahead and ordered the Rokinon 14mm it should be here Monday. I cant wait to test it out.Thank you for its a great website and I cant get enough of all useful content on here.

    • Jim August 13, 2014 / 4:50 pm

      T, did you get the 14mm? I’m also thinking of getting one in the next couple days for my NEX-7, but I’m moving on to an A7r at some point so want it to work full frame.

    • T_rell August 14, 2014 / 5:24 am

      Jim: I did get the 14mm and really love using the focus peaking on the Sony A7. I almost prefer it now. I don’t think you will be disappointed if you get this lens. I was a little hesitate at first as well, but for the price you cant beat it. The one thing i have noticed is it is a little soft around the edge at 2.8 but i was kinda expecting that.

      Ian: The sample images with the A7s are amazing as usually.

    • Ian Norman August 14, 2014 / 11:13 am

      Thanks t_rell!

  39. Sarah Galvin June 3, 2014 / 8:05 pm

    It is possible to buy UV filters for this lens to use on a Nikon D7000?

  40. David April 29, 2014 / 8:28 am

    Wicked, thanks a lot. I loved your Milky Way ETTR tutorial on youtube!

  41. David April 28, 2014 / 6:05 pm

    Hey Ian. I have the Canon 17-40mmF4L for my Canon 6d, and for astrophotography, I wanted something with a wider field of view and a wider aperture. So I won an ebay auction for this lens, but after doing some further research, I’ve read a few people write that this isn’t truly 14mm – that the field of view is more comparable to 14mm. Can you comment on this?

    • Ian Norman April 29, 2014 / 8:13 am

      I haven’t heard that the field of view is not truly 14mm but I’ve seen comparisons with similar lenses like the Nikon 14-24mm and the fields of view seem very similar.

    • David Ouellette January 12, 2015 / 7:08 pm

      I also have the Canon 6D with the Canon. I read similar things from Sony users before mine arrived and I got a little nervous, but rest assured. It is definitely wider than 17mm on the 17-40, and the F2.8 makes a pretty huge difference for astrophotography. If you’re serious about stars, go for it!
      The 17-40 stays on my camera more, because I do more travel/street/landscape photography, but when it comes to night skys – the 14mm definitely goes on.

    • Ian Norman January 12, 2015 / 9:26 pm

      I agree with David’s comments. I keep my Rokinon lenses as my exclusive astrophotography and landscape photography lenses. For walkaround work I have my smaller autofocus lenses to keep me happy.

  42. Chris April 23, 2014 / 9:02 am

    I notice in your lens guide and above you only seem to recommend this lens for full frame cameras. Is there any reason you wouldn’t recommend this for APS-C sensors?

    • Ian Norman April 23, 2014 / 10:19 am

      Nope, it’s still a great lens for APS-C sensors! There are some other options like the 16mm/2.0, 10mm f/2.8, Tokina 11-16mm/2.8 or 12mm/2.0 for mirrorless cameras that I would recommend first if you’re shooting with an APS-C camera because they’re dedicated APS-C designs. The 14mm f/2.8 is still great on an APS-C sensor but it’s doesn’t have that “WOW, that’s wide” feel like on a full-frame.

  43. Burak March 24, 2014 / 7:05 am

    Are those example photos single shots? Any stacking or noise reduction?

    • Ian Norman April 8, 2014 / 10:01 am

      All the examples are single shots without stacking. Noise reduction is just the standard default applied by Lightroom (color noise reduction only).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>